Gung Hay Fat Choy!

There’s so much more to miss about pointless and semi-conscious family traditions when you’re separated from your family.

Little things like sweet tea in the mornings, or noodles for dinner; I can try to approximate the structure of the motions my family goes through every Chinese New Year on my own, but the substance is missing without a mom, sister, and brother next to me.

I tried to get my noodles, but couldn’t find a Chinese restaurant close by that looked halfway decent, so I cheated a little bit and had udon instead (which was ok, but nothing compared to what I can get in the Bay Area). I didn’t have any sweet tea, but I did drink some pineapple green tea this morning, which was somewhat sweet. I failed miserably at wearing anything red, but I’m not a Dragon, so I don’t think I have to, strictly speaking, anyway.

All of this is a lot more fun and meaningful at home. Strange, how the things that make you miss your family are the things you never even think about for 364 days out of the year.

Happy New Year, everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gung Hay Fat Choy!

  1. Dorothy says:

    Gung Hee Fat Choy! We had to make do with Chinese tea sweetened with German rock sugar :-). At least we were all together this year, so that made me happy.

Leave a Reply

