Idiocy Works, or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love Looking Like a Fool

Holy sh!tballs.

This is something I would normally keep pretty close to the vest, in line with my long-standing policy of never communicating the good things that happen to me in fear of looking like an arrogant ass. But I’m trying to improve my self-confidence, and I think sharing things like this is important for that. So here we go.

On my way out of Torts today, my professor caught up with me and made a point of shaking my hand. He asked what I had been doing before law school, then told me he really appreciated what I had to say in class when I speak up. Apparently, unbeknownst to me, I’ve made an impression. When I told him about my teaching background, he said I had real talent, had good ideas, and am able to communicate them in a very clear, understandable fashion. Then he told me to keep it up, and walked off.

This from a man who is apparently good friends with President Obama. I’m still absolutely convinced that everything I say in class makes me look like a complete moron, but now I’m going to work even harder to keep doing it.

I’m still in shock over the entire episode.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

